Downtown Minneapolis Neighborhood Association
General Membership Meeting

Tuesday, November 15, 2005
Minneapolis Neighborhood Revitalization Program Office
105 5th Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN


I.          Call to Order and Introductions

Kim Motes, Chair, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. 

II.        Consideration of agenda, additions to agenda
There were no additions to the General Membership Meeting agenda.
III.       Update from Elected Officials

Board Chair Kim Motes invited local elected officials to give an update on their work on behalf of the Downtown Minneapolis neighborhoods.  Officials who gave reports were:

§         Minneapolis Council Member Paul Zerby; and

§         Doug Kress, on behalf of Minneapolis Council Member Lisa Goodman, as her aide.

IV.       Elections to the DMNA Board of Directors – 4 open seats
Board Chair Kim Motes invited representatives from the Minneapolis League of Women Voters to the podium to moderate the election process.  LWV volunteer Margaret Berg announced that there are four seats with 2-year terms up for election. 
Berg indicated that nominations accepted prior to this evening included four current DMNA board members: David Abele, Dee Cotten, Andy Hauer, and Tom Hoch.  Additional candidates included the following: Mandy Chan, Ronal Kenmet, Scott Parkin, Cynthia Newsom, George Rosenquist, and Scott Woller. 
Berg asked the audience if there were any other nominations in addition to those already accepted.  Seeing none, she closed the nominations and distributed the ballots.  Berg asked voters to vote for no more than four people.  Berg indicated that the LWV would collect and count the ballots, and the new board members would be announced at the end of the meeting. 
V.        Crime and Safety Update
The following people gave reports regarding crime and safety issues and activities in the Downtown East and West neighborhoods.
§         Inspector Rob Allen, Lt. Michael Kjos, Lt. Janee Harteau, and CCP/SAFE Luther Krueger:  First Precinct report
§         Assistant City Attorney, Lois Conroy: Update on Panhandling and Trespassing Ordinances
§         Minneapolis Downtown Council, Michael McLaughlin: Update on SafeZone Camera Project
VI.       Downtown Development Update

Land Use Committee Chair Andy Hauer introduced speakers who presented on the following projects:

§         Brighton Development – Park Avenue Lofts and St. Anthony Mills Apartments: Deidre Schmidt
§         Heritage Development’s The Wave – Fuji Ya Redevelopment Site: Michael Moriarty and Jeff Arundel
§         Sherman Associates – Parcel F: Brian Gorecki
§         Washington Avenue Streetscape Project:  Michael McLaughlin, Minneapolis Downtown Council
In addition, City of Minneapolis Principal Planner Jack Byers gave an update on CPED activities.  Byers noted that he is leaving his position as principal planner assigned to the downtown area.  Until a new planner is hired, Pamela Miner will serve as the contact person.  Byers told the attendees that he will miss working with the DMNA board and on behalf of the downtown neighborhoods.  He will still be working for the City of Minneapolis, just in a different capacity. 
VII.     State of the Neighborhood Address
DMNA Board Chair Kim Motes gave an update on DMNA projects and activities over the past year.  She highlighted the following:
§         Affordable Housing Fund
§         Restorative Justice
§         Skyway Senior Center
§         Washington Avenue Streetscape
§         SafeZone Cameras
Motes also recognized and thanked DMNA board members:  David Abele, Dee Cotten, Andy Hauer, Tom Hoch, Gene Nessly, Jodi Pfarr, Carletta Sweet; and DMNA staff person Christie Rock, and DMNA’s NRP Specialist Barb Lickness.
DMNA Board Chair Kim Motes announced the newly elected DMNA board members:  Andy Hauer, Tom Hoch, Cynthia Newsom, and Scott Parkin.  She thanked the other candidates for running. 
IX.       Adjournment

Being no further business, DMNA Board Chair Kim Motes adjourned the meeting at 9:00 p.m. 

Signed this ________ day of ________________________, 2006.

_______________________________             _______________________________
Chair                                                                    Secretary